How did the navajo serve in world war ii?

During world war ii Native Americans from the Navajo tribe were instrumental in communicating sensitive troop movements, intelligence and orders over radio. The Navajo language was an unbreakable code the Axis powers could not decipher. The American heroes were often referred to as wind talkers.