Are praying mantis protected?

Mantises are not protected by law, nor has there ever been such a law or statute at the federal, state, or city level in the United States. It's still a bad idea to kill them though, because they eat pests; moths, mosquitoes, roaches, flies, aphids, and even small rodents in farms and gardens.