Where did the expression jim crow come from?

Jim Crow was a demeaning caricature in blackface minstrelsy. By the late 1830s “Jim Crow” had become a pejorative epithet for African Americans, and was adopted in the late 19th century as the identifier for anti-Black and segregationist laws in the American South after Reconstruction.