What do butterflies come from?

Butterflies come from eggs that hatch into caterpillars, which eat plants and grow until they spin a cocoon or chrysalis around themselves. Inside the cocoon, over time they transform into butterflies, break out of the cocoon, dry their wings and fly, drink nectar, mate, and lay more eggs.