What is the world record for the sixteen hundred meter?

Hicham El Guerrouj is the current men's record holder for the 1500 meters with his time of 3:43.13, while Sifan Hassan has the women's record, pending ratification, of 4:12.33.

---

Hicham El Guerrouj is the current men's record holder with his time of 3 minutes 43.13 seconds, while Sifan Hassan has the women's record of 4 minutes 12.33 seconds.