What causes rogue waves?

Waves are formed when wind pushes on the water. The water moves away & creates a bulge that catches more wind, the duration & distance the wind acts on the water, the bigger the wave gets. Some waves merge with other waves creating waves that are much bigger than others, these waves r rogue waves