What's wrong with savannah guthrie's eyes?

The TV journalist's three eye surgeries were the result of an injury she sustained in November 2019, after her now 4-year-old son, Charley, accidentally jabbed her with a toy truck. The accident left Guthrie with a torn retina. She underwent laser treatments, and eventually surgery, to repair it.