How long do you cook a six pound roast beef?

Cook for 20 minutes a pound. A 6 lb roast takes about 2 hours for a rare roast, but watch the thermometer reading. After you cook it for 20 minutes a pound, take it out of the oven, let it sit for 1 minute and then check the thermometer reading. Adjust time adding 15 minutes for medium rare.