What is a black sultan?

Abu Hassan Ali, “El Sultan Aswad” or “The Black Sultan,” was the most famous of the Merinides rulers of Morocco. He was renowned in the annals of the East for his ambition, courage, and the fortitude with which he bore his reverses, as well as for his patronage of art.