How do you bake chicken in an oven?

Heat oven to 350°. Rub chicken inside and out with vegetable or olive oil. Salt and pepper the entire surface. Place breast side up leaving the cavity open in a roasting pan and bake for 60 minutes or until leg joints are loose enough to come apart and juices are running clear (170° near the bone)