What is the white film on blueberries?

The waxy white film on blueberries, grapes and certain plums, is a safe, natural part of the fruit, known as the "bloom". It acts as a barrier against insects and bacteria and helps seal in the fruit's moisture. This type of produce should be washed shortly before eating.