Why are dogs nose's cold and wet?

Dogs keep their noses cold and wet by licking. The moisture on the nose helps intensify scents and give dogs the ability to determine which directions smells are coming from. It is normal for a dog that has just woken up to have a dry nose because the dog was not licking his nose in his sleep.