What do bugs like to eat?

Depending on the insect, the bug might consume plant material like sap, leaves, pollen, nectar, fruit, decaying organic material (think dead leaves), blood of other organisms (making them parasitic), algae, or whole organisms (making them carnivorous or predatory insects).