What is an isthmus?

An isthmus is A small piece of land that connects two larger pieces and has two different bodies of water on either side.

---

An isthmus is a narrow strip of land above water, bordered on two sides by water, and connecting two larger land masses. An example of a naturally occurring isthmus is the Isthmus of Panama in Central America.