What's the difference between vinegar and apple cider vinegar?

Both apple cider vinegar and white vinegar are made by fermenting alcohol, but their sources are very different. In apple cider vinegar, the alcohol is made from apple juice, while white vinegar is made using a variety of sources such as molasses, corn, wheat, or even potatoes.