When during the year is the sun highest in the sky?

Earth's tilt & orbit, create the longest day of the year, with the most sunlight, & the Sun appearing at it's highest in the sky, on the day of Summer Solstice. In the northern hemisphere, this is usually around June 21st. In the southern hemisphere this occurs around December 22nd.