Is breaking and entering a felony?

Breaking and entering, as its own crime, is generally considered to be a misdemeanor. This generally refers to houses, apartments, and office buildings, but it can also include automobiles. However, breaking and entering is often also associated with the crime of burglary, which is a felony.