When did the united states invade vietnam?

The US physical sent troops into Vietnam in March 1965 by Lyndon B. Johnson. However the Vietnam conflict goes back to WWII when communist Japan invaded France's anti-communist Vietnam, and created a power struggle. The US aided the anti-communist south with naval support and funding before 1965.