What is an extra dry martini?

An extra dry martini is made with Gin or vodka and VERY little vermouth. The less vermouth the drier it is. If someone asks for it dirty, that adds olive juice.

---

An extra dry martini is a type of martini that contains very little vermouth. Vermouth is a type of fortified wine that is used to add flavor to cocktails. Extra dry martinis are made by adding just a small amount of vermouth to the cocktail.