Do you need to aerate white wine?

It’s a tough call. Most of the time, no, you do not aerate white wine. But white that resemble their red cousins DO benefit from aeration. Examples are Alsace, Burgundies, White Bordeaux, Chardonnays, and Sauvignon Blancs. You can let these whites settle in a decorative decanter for 30 minutes.