What's a mexican mole?

A Mexican mole is a thick sauce that usually contains chilies and chocolate or cocoa along with many other ingredients such as tomatoes, onions and various herbs and spices. It can be used on desserts as well as a topping for enchiladas, tacos, chicken dishes, etc