What happened to duck dynasty tv show?

Duck Dynasty, first aired on TV in 2012, was an immediate hit. The final episode aired in spring 2017. For its 5 year run, it was reported to be the most-watched nonfiction series in cable history. Some supporters are still wondering why the A&E reality show ended at all.