What's the difference between a water bug and a cockroach?

They belong to different orders of insects. Water bugs are Coleopterans (beetles), while cockroaches are Blattodeans. Their lifestyles and physical structures are very different!

---

water bugs belong to the order Hemiptera and have sucking mouthparts. Cockroaches belong to the order blattodea and have biting mouthparts.