What are the different types of lightning?

There are three primary types of lightning: intracloud, cloud to cloud, and cloud to ground. Some types of cloud-to-ground lightning include staccato, forked, ribbon, and bead lightening.

---

Types of cloud-to-ground lightning include staccato, forked, ribbon, and bead lightening. –Staccato lightning is a strike which is a short-duration stroke that often, but not always, appears as a single very bright flash and often has considerable branching.