What is the technical name of a hashtag?

And it isn't the “number sign” or the “pound sign,” as it was called back in the #DarkAges before Twitter. The technical term for a hashtag is “octothorp,” according to the OED; octo, in reference to the eight points in the figure, and Thorpe, OED says cryptically, from “the surname Thorpe.”