Why do baseball players chew bubble gum?

Baseball players chew gum to help prevent dry mouth. Baseball, being a dusty, dirty, outside sport played at times in extreme heat, can lead to dry mouth. Also, sliding into bases can add dirt to a player's mouth, so chewing gum removes that dirty feeling that players may have.