What is the montauk experiment?

According to Wikipedia, the Montauk Project is a conspiracy theory that alleges there were a series of secret US government projects conducted at Camp Hero or Montauk Air Force Station for the purpose of developing psychological warfare techniques and exotic research including time travel.