How do dogs move their tails?

Dog's tails seem to wag on their own, but the muscles that control it don't. Just like the rest of her body, she can control her tail muscles by thinking in order to manipulate movement. She can wag, lower or raise her tail at will, and she can stop it mid-wag, too.