What time period did the vikings live?

The Vikings first appearance in Western Europe was the sack of Lindisfarne Abbey in 793 A.D. They were active in European politics for 4 centuries. The French county of Normandy is named for them. The Normans who invaded England were their descendants. Russia is named for a Viking tribe: The Rus.