How many ounces is a fifth of whiskey?

25oz. These days most bottles are 750 ml, which is close to 1 fifth of a gallon. A gallon contains 128 fluid ounces. So a fifth or 750ml contains a tad more than 25 oz, or 25 one-ounce shots. Of course, many use 1 ½ ounce for a standard shot which is around 16 shots.