Where do currents come from?

Zante currants, Corinth raisins, or Corinthian raisins, also called simply currants, are dried berries of the small, sweet, seedless grape cultivar 'Black Currant", they originally are from the Ionian island of Zakynthos, which was once the major producer and exporter.