What does taning mean?

Tanning is the process of making your skin tone darker by exposing it to UV light or chemical application. According to jakearchibald.com: Tanning is the process of treating skins and hides of animals to produce leather.

---

the action or activity of exposing one's skin to the sun in order to achieve a brown or darkened color, or the action or process of converting animal skin into leather by soaking it in a liquid containing tannic acid, or by the use of other chemicals