Why is the bald eagle the national bird of the united states?

The bald eagle became the national bird after the American Revolution and later was placed on the great seal of America. It was chosen because it is native to North America and because it is long lived. It is also very stately looking.

---

Its imagery was finalized by Secretary of Congress Charles Thomson from design suggestions by Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, and Benjamin Franklin — plus contributions from two other committees and from Thomson, who chose the American Bald Eagle as the centerpiece of the Great Seal.