How many characters are in the bible?

According to the Biographical Bible, 2nd Edition, there are 3,237 Bible characters named in the Scriptures, with 1,443 characters who do not have unique names (e.g., there are 4 Benjamins, 14 Josephs, and 31 Zechariahs named).