What happens when the sun sets?

The setting of the sun is an observed phenomenon due to the rotation of the earth. As the Earth turns, the side away from the sun goes into darkness. Just before the sun goes down altogether, a sunset can be seen. The colors in the sky are due to refraction of the light by the sky.