How long do you boil fresh beats?

Here is a good recipe. Place the beets in a large saucepan, add water to cover and some lemon juice or vinegar. This helps keep the beets from bleeding. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer until tender, about 45 minutes to 1 hour. Then run under cold water, rinse, and remove skins.