Can animals get mono?

Mononucleosis in humans actually comes from the Epstein-Barr virus (a type of herpesvirus). This virus can indeed spread to dogs, and most often comes from exposure to a person with mono. That being said, the virus does not affect mononuclear cells in dogs. So technically, dogs can not get mono.