How did moaning myrtle die in harry potter?

Moaning Myrtle lived in the time when Lord Voldemort was a wizard at Hogwarts. She was killed in the girl's bathroom by looking into the eyes of the Basilisk. She meets Harry Potter when he and Hermione and Ron are making polyjuice potion in the Chamber of Secrets.