Was albert einstein illiterate?

No, Albert Einstein was not illiterate. He was not a bad student, but he was a rebel, who did not tolerate the strict school discipline. At the age of twelve, Einstein was reading physics books. At thirteen he was reading the Critique of Pure Reason and the work of other philosophers.