What are exploding ants?

Aptly named Colobopsis explodens is first species of exploding ant to be described in 80 years. To protect their nest from invaders, some worker ants make the ultimate act of self-sacrifice: They explode, releasing a toxic fluid from their abdomens to kill the intruder &, in the process, themselves.