What's the difference between relative humidity and absolute humidity?

Absolute humidity is the measure of the actual water vapor in the air. ... Relative humidity is the ratio of the absolute humidity to the theoretical maximum for a given temperature and pressure. It is expressed as a %. So, if the air holds half of what it could hold, the relative humidity is 50%.