Why are the baseball players wearing yellow ribbons?

The special ribbons and gold wristbands are being worn in support of the fight against childhood cancer, it is the fourth consecutive season the league has chosen to promote this cause via players wearing ribbons. Players will also wear special batting practice shirts before the game.