How does a sewer system work?

A sewer system removes waste, human and food scraps (called sewage) from premises by being pushed by water aided by gravity down through 3 to 4 inch pipes to a larger pipe system to a treatment plant where it is sanitized into an effluent germ free liquid and released into large bodies of water.