Where is chilean sea bass come from?

Chilean sea bass is a deep-water species caught in southern ocean waters near and around Antarctica. The Chileans were the first to market toothfish commercially in the US, earning it the name Chilean sea bass, although it is really not a bass and it is not always caught in Chilean waters.