What's the difference between pilsner and lager?

Pilsner is actually type of lager, named after the Czech city Plzen. The most notable difference between them is that pilsners tend to have more hop forward flavours and they use different yeast. Ultimately, pilsners are just spicier, more hoppy lagers.