What is a strat style guitar?

"Strat" refers to the Fender Stratocaster, first introduced in 1954. The Stratocaster is a solid body electric guitar with three pickups. The early Stratocaster is the guitar that sets the standard that guitars are still measured against to this day. "A pure rock and roll machine". - Eric Clapton