What came first the egg or the bird?

The egg. Birds always hatch from eggs, but other kinds of animals also lay eggs. So the first bird must have been hatched from an egg that wasn't laid by a bird. Otherwise, it wouldn't have been the first bird. The egg would have been laid by an animal that was almost a bird, but not quite.