What is a car ninety eight k?

The Karabiner 98 kurz; often abbreviated Kar98k or K98k and often incorrectly referred to as a "K98" (which was a Polish carbine), is a bolt-action rifle chambered for the 7.92×57mm Mauser cartridge that was adopted on 21 June 1935 as the standard.