How do you cut a cactus pear?

Slice both ends of the prickly pear off. ... Make one long vertical slice down the body of the prickly pear. Slip your finger into the slice and grab a hold of the skin. Peel back the skin: Begin to peel back the thick fleshy skin that's wrapped around the prickly pear.