What vegetables grow in the ground?

All root vegetables grow in the ground. A good way to tell is by the shape. Some roots have a pointed end and a circular stem top like a carrot. This is not a complete list, but some other ones are: potatoes, onions, garlic, shallots, yams, beets, parsnips, rutabagas, and sweet potatoes.